Jan Bavinton Award

Jan Bavinton Memorial Project

Each year, IEU Victoria Tasmania awards up to $3000 to assist an ES member undertake a Professional Development project. The money can be used for the costs associated with a nominated project, such as fees, travel or leave.

The Jan Bavinton Memorial Project was established in 1989 in recognition of the contribution made to her profession and her union (VATIS) by Jan Bavinton, the Lab Manager at Carey Grammar School. Following her death, the Jan Bavinton Memorial Project was established to acknowledge the professionalism, commitment and excellence of support staff in independent schools. Since the amalgamation of the non-government education unions in 1993, the project has been extended to all Education Support Staff from the non-government sector.

Applicants should be engaged in a project, or ongoing work that could be developed into a resource for other ES staff, which would be of interest and relevance to IEU members.

Applicants will need to create a short proposal of no more than two pages. The scope of the project is broad and may include research, related travel, study or other forms of Professional Development being undertaken by the applicant. The project should not only further the applicant’s own professional development aims, but should have the potential to be a resource with wider application.

Each applicant must be:

  • a financial IEU Victoria Tasmania member, and
  • a School Officer/School Services Officer; or a School Assistant; or a Clerical or Administrative employee.

The successful applicant should be intending to continue employment in the non-government sector for at least a year following completion of the project and must agree to provide a report to IEU Victoria Tasmania within 2 months of the completion of the project.

Applications should be addressed to:

The Selection Committee
Jan Bavinton Memorial Project
IEU Victoria Tasmania, PO Box 1320
South Melbourne 3205

or by email: info@ieuvictas.org.au

Applications must be received by Friday 3 November.


See also: Barry Wood Award